mySFA
Login to mySFA
Home  |  Hours  |  Catalog  |  My Library Account  |  Map   
Site Search

RIS Home    Services    Databases A-Z    RIS Recommends
Collection Development Program    Staff    FAQ

Database List

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

20th Century American Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey) is a searchable collection of over 50,000 poems by over 300 poets.

20th Century English Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey) is a searchable collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day.

A

AAPG/Datapages Combined Publications database contains over 60,000 articles from sources including AAPG Publications, SEPM Journal, GCAGS Transactions, and Journal of Petroleum Geology.

ABI-INFORM (OCLC FirstSearch) provides citations and abstracts for articles on business and management.

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) is a multidisciplinary index giving access to articles in over 8000 journals with many available in full text.

Agricola (Ebsco) contains over 3 million citations to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions.

Alternative Health Watch (Ebsco) contains over 50,000 complete articles and thousands of embedded images dealing with alternative remedies for health problems.

Alternative Press Index (OCLC FirstSearch) is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information from 290 alternative periodicals, newspapers and magazines on the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.

America: History and Life (ABC-CLIO) gives citations and abstracts for articles dealing with history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American Chemical Society Web Editions (ACS Web Edition and Archive) provides online full-text access to all the ACS journal and magazine publications (presently, about 36), with coverage from volume 1 to current for each.

Annual Reviews

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (FirstSearch) is a database covering scientific and technical publications with topics from acoustics to waste management.

Art Abstracts (FirstSearch) indexes more than 200 international arts publications.

ArticleFirst (FirstSearch) indexes journals in the areas of business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social sciences and technology.

Arts and Humanities Search (First Search) covers articles in literature, language, art and the performing arts.

Associations Unlimited (Gale) contains information on international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit organizations in all fields.

Top

B

BasicBiosis(Firstsearch) contains citations and abstracts for articles from life science journals.

Bibliography of Native North Americans (EBSCO)

Biography Resource Center (Gale Cengage Learning) is a full text database of biographical information on people throughout history.

Biological and Agricultural Index (FirstSearch) cites articles from journals, both popular and professional, that pertain to biology and agriculture.

Biology Digest (FirstSearch) covers articles on the life sciences for undergraduates and high school students.

BioMedCentral is a publisher that provides access to more than 160 peer-reviewed open access journals through their site.

BioOne provides access to full text articles from bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences, most published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.

Birds of North America is an up-to-date, comprehensive resource covering the life histories of North American birds. This resource provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada, including images and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more.

Blackwell Synergy Journals provides access to articles published in journals of international scholarly and professional societies, some are available full text.

Books in Print (Bowker) delivers a complete record of past, new and forthcoming books published or distributed in the U.S.

Business and Company Resource Center (Gale Cengage Learning) is a resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, investment reports, company histories, etc. along with articles.

Business and Industry (FirstSearch) indexes articles dealing with information on important facts, figures and key events dealing with companies, industries, products and markets--international in scope.

Business and Management Practices (Firstsearch) focuses on the practical aspects and approaches of business management with the indexing of management journals and trade publications. Full-text is available for most of the articles.

Business Dateline (FirstSearch) provides citations to articles on regional business activities and trends, as well as major stories on local firms, products, and executives.

Business Insights provides full text access to reports across a wide range of industry sectors.

Business Organizations (FirstSearch) provides information on organizations that serve business and industry in a directory format.

Business Source Complete (Ebsco) provides full text access to articles in over 2,000 business journals.

Top

C

CCH Internet Tax Research Network provides tax and business law information.

CINAHL with full text (Ebsco) offers full text access to nursing and allied health journals.

ClasePeriodica (FirstSearch) indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities.

Classical Music Library is a streaming recorded music database for listening and study.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (Ebsco) covers key journals, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies and mass media.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,470 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources in the areas of engineering, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social and professional context. Full text is also available for more than 660 periodicals.

Computer Source (Ebsco) contains full text journal and magazine articles covering topics in computing.

Consumer Health Complete

Contemporary Women's Issues (Firstsearch) provides full text access to information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports, and fact sheets.

CQ Researcher includes original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

CQ Weekly covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis.

Top

D

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) includes bibliographic citations for dissertations and theses world wide from 1861 to the present with full text access available for the newer titles and abstracts available for the older titles.

Digital Sanborn Maps gives access to the Texas collection of fire insurance maps that chart the growth of Texas cities from the late 1800s through the mid 1900s.

Disclosure Corporate Snapshots (FirstSearch) provides directory information on companies publicly traded on U.S. exchanges.

Top

E

EBSCO Animals provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals with some full text information available.

Electronic Collections Online(ECO) (FirstSearch) indexes journals in a variety of subject areas, all with full-text articles available online for a fee.

Economic Literature (Firstsearch) indexes journals, books and working papers in the area of economics.

Economia y Negocios (Ebsco) is a Spanish language database which focuses on business and economics periodicals published in Latin America and Spain

Emerald Journals provides access to over 150 journals for full text articles in the fields of management, library services, and engineering.

EMusic in Print gives information on music that is in print.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online is a general online full text encyclopedia.

ERIC (IES) is a digital library of education-related resources, including journal and non-journal literature with some available in full text format.

Essay and General Literature (FirstSearch) cites essays and articles focusing on humanities and social sciences subjects.

Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale Cengage Learning) is a general database with indexing for journal, magazine and newspaper articles, with many of the articles available full text.

Top

F

Forestry Abstracts is an abstract database of internationally published research providing the latest information on all aspects of forestry, with a backfile to 1990.

Forestry Products is a fully searchable abstract database of internationally published forest products research, providing the most recent information on forest products from harvesting, through wood anatomy to international trade of timber and non-wood forest products.

Fuente Academica (Ebsco) is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers with full text coverage.

Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia is a general encyclopedia with all information available full text.

Top

G

General Businessfile ASAP (Gale Cengage Learning) lists articles in business journals and magazines with many available full text.

Geobase (Firstsearch) a worldwide index to literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines, includes journal articles, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.

GeoRef (Ebsco) includes citations to nearly 2 million international records about geology and earth sciences.

Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2d ed; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2d ed.

GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of information products produced by the Federal Government.

Top

H

Handbook of Texas Online is a full text encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture with articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, etc.

Health Reference Center (1996 - Present) provides indexing for magazine and journal articles, and pamphlets dealing with personal and allied heath, medicine, and nursing. Many of the articles are available in full-text format.

Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale Cengage Learning) is an index to full text articles and citations, along with definitions, and directories, as well as links to health sites and government databases.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (Ebsco) is a full text collection of journal articles on consumer health information.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition (Ebsco) provides full-text access to articles in scholarly journals focusing on nursing and allied health professions.

Heritage Quest (Proquest) is a full text collection of family and local histories.

Historical Abstracts provides historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

History Resource Center: Modern World draws on themes and trends from the 20th Century with full-text articles, images, primary source documents, and maps.

History Resource Center U.S. provides access to historical (primary) documents, reference articles, and full-text journals covering U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present.

Hollywood Creative Directory contains up-to-date information listing the names, addresses and current titles of entertainment professionals. To access this database you must provide the username: request@sfasu.edu and password: LIBRARY.

Hospitality & Tourism Index (Ebsco) is a bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism, much of it available full text.

Top

I

IngentaConnect offers a collection of academic and professional research articles available for purchase from their site.

Information Science & Technology Abstracts indexes journal articles, as well as books, research reports, conference proceedings and patents with coverage back to the mid-‘60s.

Infotrac Newspapers (Gale) gives full-text access to hundreds of newspapers from around the world, including The Dallas Morning News, The Austin American-Statesman, The Houston Chronicle, The New York Times, and The Times ( London).

InfoTrac OneFile (Gale Cengage Learning) provides access to newspapers as well as refereed, scholarly journal articles from 1980 to the present.

International Index to Music Periodicals covers music in journals from more than 20 countries with some full-text articles provided.

Internet PC Abstracts (Ebsco) indexes magazine/journal articles on computing.

Investext Plus provides access to a collection of full-text reports dealing with investment research.

Top

J

Journal Abbreviation Index provided courtesy of the Caltech Library System.

Journals@OVID Nursing Collection 2 is a full-text collection of 14 titles from the Lippincott Premier Nursing Journals.

JSTOR-Scholarly Journal Archive is a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and provide full-text access to those journals.

K

Top

L

Legal Collection (Ebsco) indexes articles in legal journals.

LexisNexis Academic provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 journals and magazines, as well as books, research reports and proceedings covering subjects in the field of librarianship with coverage back to the mid-1960s.

Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution, and it serves as the research arm of Congress.

Literary Databases (Gale) provides access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography in one database with information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reactions to their works.

LitFinder is an online resource which is international in scope, covers all time periods, and contains a wealth of primary literature, including full-text poems and excerpts, as well as short stories, essays, speeches, and plays.

Top

M

MarciveWeb DOCS is the online catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

MarketLine (Datamonitor) provides business intelligence on global companies, along with industry and country profiles.

MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a database of reviews and abstracts for mathematical sciences literature with some direct links to original articles.

MedicLatina is a full text Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers.

Medline (Ebsco) is a database that covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. There is no full text access, but most records include substantial abstracts.

Medline (FirstSearch) is a database that covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. There is no full text access, but most records include substantial abstracts.

MasterFILE Premier provides full text access to general journals and magazines covering a broad range of subject areas.

MAS Ultra: School Edition is a database designed for high school libraries, and contains full text for more than 700 popular, high school magazines, as well as pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection.

Military Government Collection (Ebsco) provides full-text from over 320 military and general interest publications and also offers indexing and abstracting for over 360 magazines.

MLA Bibliography (Ebsco) provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide on literature and language topics.

Top

N

NASW Register of Clinical Social Workers is a resource for members of the public to identify social workers who are qualified by education, experience, and credentials to be providers of mental health services.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) an extensive source of information on criminal and juvenile justice in the world.

National Library of Medicine has a Gateway allowing users to search in multiple systems including MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, DIRLINE, AIDS Meetings, Health Services Research Meetings, Space Life Sciences Meetings, and HSRProj.

Natural & Alternative Treatments

Newspaper Abstracts (FirstSearch) indexes significant items from over 50 U.S. national and regional newspapers.

NetLibrary is a collection of electronic books (eBooks) especially selected to meet the needs of the university curriculum.

Newsbank (Access World News) is a full-text newspaper resource consisting of more than 1800 regional, national, and international newspapers and newswire sources.

Newspaper Source (Ebsco) is a newspaper database with full-text for 159 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns, with indexing and abstracts for 4 national newspapers.

Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre en Linea is the only full-length online encyclopedia conceived and developed for and with the Spanish-speaking peoples of the Americas and contains over fifteen thousand articles with over six thousand photographs.

Top

O

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale Cengage Learning) is a resource that utilizes many different sources to provide information on both sides of controversial topics.

Top

P

PapersFirst (Firstsearch) searches for papers from every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting that are received at The British Library.

PsycFIRST (Firstsearch)

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author- written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.

Population Index On the Web includes selective indexing for demographic research with abstracts from journals, books, working papers, doctoral dissertations, and other sources.

Primary Search (Ebsco) provides full text articles for popular magazines used for elementary school research. Each article is assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

Proceedings (Firstsearch) gives the ciitations and table of contents for every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.

Professional Development Collection (Ebsco) is designed for professional educators and provides full text articles from education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. It is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

Project Muse (Scholarly Journals Online) offers full-text, online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

PsycFIRST (FirstSearch) lists citations for articles in psychology and related fields that are current and for the previous three years.

PsycINFO (Ebsco) indexes and abstracts books and book chapters in English, and 1300+ journals in over 20 languages in the field of psychology.

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service with access to 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals).

Top

Q

Top

R

Regional Business News (Ebsco) provides the full-text for 35 international newswires and 49 regional business publications.

Religion and Philosophy Collection (Ebsco) is a tool for researchers of theology and philosophical studies with access to over 250 full-text journals.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature provides abstracts to over 500 scholarly journals, as well as books, dissertations, bibliographies, conference proceedings, etc. in the field of music.

Top

S

Safari Tech Books Online a premier information source for leading-edge computer technologies from leading publishers covering areas of information technology, desktop applications and business.

Science & Technology Collection (Ebsco) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications of which over 800 leading full text journals cover relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, physics, archaeology, and materials science.

Scirus: for scientific information only searches more than 150 million science-related Web sites, along with 11 journal databases with full text articles often included.

Scribner Writers Series includes signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from the Scribner print series.

SIMBAD Astronomical Database provides basic data, cross-identifications and bibliographic references for astronomical objects within our galaxy or in external galaxies.

SIRS Researcher (Firstsearch) lists citations for articles selected from newspapers, magazines, journals and government publications on social, scientific, economic, and political issues worldwide.

SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco) contains full text articles in the social sciences for over 400journals, full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for over 6,000 conference papers, along with over 10,000 Author profiles.

Social Work Abstracts (Ovid) provides abstracts for articles, dealing with the field of social work, in English-language periodicals.(available through June 2008)

Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco) provides abstracts for articles, dealing with the field of social work, in English-language periodicals.

Species Information Library (NISC) is a reference database with 45,000 pages of species profiles for North American mammals and selected invertebrates.

SpringerLink Journals is the most comprehensive online collection of scientific, technological, and medical journals; some are available full text and are clearly marked as such.

SPORTSDiscus (Ebsco) offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.

Stat!Ref is a full text collection of 35 medical and drug reference titles, including the Merck Manual and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Top

T

Taylor and Francis Journals

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps provides access to more than 660,000 Sanborn maps that chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch.

THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet includes information on activities in Congress, status and text of bills, committee reports and homepages, historical documents, and U.S. Government resources.

Times Digital Archive allows for searching and viewing the most cited newspaper in the world: The Times ( London), for the years 1785 to 1985.

TOPICsearch (Ebsco) is a current events database exploring social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in the classroom with full text articles from over 4,800 sources.

TreeSearch is "the largest freely available collection of online forestry research in the world" and includes publications of the USDA Forest Service.

Twayne's Authors Series contains the full text of 200 Twayne Literary Masters books on individual authors.

Top

U

Ulrich's International Periodicals is a fully searchable database for information on periodical titles, including magazines, journals, newspapers, and newsletters.

Top

V

ValueLine provides information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive indexes the Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University, which includes national television evening news broadcasts, special reports, and periodic news broadcasts.

Vocational & Career Collection (Ebsco) provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Top

W

Westlaw Campus Research is a legal research tool that includes case law; laws from all 50 states; federal statutes; and federal regulations. Also, includes secondary sources such as the American Jurisprudence 2d (Am Jur), American Law Reports (ALR) and hundreds of journals and law reviews from leading law schools.

Wildlife Worldwide (NISC) is a source for locating literature, from 1935 to the present time, on mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians.

Wilson Select Plus (FirstSearch) is a general database that contains full text articles from popular and scholarly journals and magazines.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) is a catalog of books, audiovisuals and other materials owned by libraries worldwide.

World Data Analyst Online is an online tool which allows users to analyze countries and offers statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures.

World History Collection (Ebsco) offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East and includes full text for nearly 150 titles, including scholarly journals.

WorldScope (Firstsearch) information on companies derived from corporate annual and 10K reports, disclosure statements, newspapers, and wire services.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and complementary fields.

Top

XYZ

Top